In the meantime, my headache is getting steadily worse, and I don't feel much tireder. (Bad grammar is OK, if it's on sleep dep...)
Which brings me to another tangent... I have a saying I picked up from Fig. "Much more gooder". It's so grossly grammatically incorrect that I can't imagine anyone thinking that anyone would use it WITHOUT knowing how grossly incorrect it is. (Fig knew it, too.) That's the POINT. I've had entirely too many people look at me after I say it, and repeat it back to me, with a long akin to, "Isn't there something you'd like to tell me?" Please. Anyone who's talked to me any length of time should be able to figure out that I know that "much more gooder" isn't kosher with whatever body governs the English language.
I don't give a fuck, thank you very much. It's supposed to be FUNNY.
eloreen and I had a talk somewhat similar to this. We're both of the same opinion. We know how to use the English language properly. Therefore, we feel we should be able to discard those rules when we feel like it. Now, granted, I'm not going to turn in a paper for an employer, or a resume, or anything OFFICIAL, with poor grammar. But I think I colloquialize it a lot in my common speech and my LJ. And I'm good with that. (And colloquialize, if it's even a word, probably isn't an accurate term... perhaps more like bastardize...) Anyway, that's the way I prefer it.
walkingbear once lamented in an IM that I write like I talk. I'm actually pleased with that, and that's what I strive for. What you see is what you get. I was part of the AOL community for a long time, and really got annoyed at people who were obviously trying to be something they weren't. I was very proud of myself that I made a conscious effort to never be fake about it.
*blink*
I go off on weird tangents when I can't sleep... And I still have that fucking headache...
Which brings me to another tangent... I have a saying I picked up from Fig. "Much more gooder". It's so grossly grammatically incorrect that I can't imagine anyone thinking that anyone would use it WITHOUT knowing how grossly incorrect it is. (Fig knew it, too.) That's the POINT. I've had entirely too many people look at me after I say it, and repeat it back to me, with a long akin to, "Isn't there something you'd like to tell me?" Please. Anyone who's talked to me any length of time should be able to figure out that I know that "much more gooder" isn't kosher with whatever body governs the English language.
I don't give a fuck, thank you very much. It's supposed to be FUNNY.
*blink*
I go off on weird tangents when I can't sleep... And I still have that fucking headache...