The job interview seemed to go well. He asked when I could start, so that seems like a good sign. Of course, after that, I had to do the typical background check and whatnot. Unfortunately, this particular background check includes a credit check, and that may fuck me, big time. We'll see. They also had some tests to take on the computer. Psychoanalysis and whatnot, and also some general knowledge, vocabulary, and math stuff. There was also a section where you had to look over some data, and there was a time limit. This was one of the sections that was timed, and the only one I didn't finish in time. However, I think I was accurate, and I really don't think anyone was expected to finish it, 'cause I know I was going pretty fast. In fact, true to my typical style, I finished my tests, and went back to the paperwork and finished it before the other two chicks in the room were done with their tests. (Have I ever told the story about my LPN boards? I'm pretty sure I was the first person done with the morning session, and I'm positive I was the first person done with the afternoon session. I heard much grumbling and sounds of amazement when I turned in my test booklet. I passed the first time around, too.)
Anyway, I don't know if the other two chicks there were applying for the same position I was. I don't think so, really, 'cause I don't think they talked to the same department. The guy I interviewed with was the supervisor of the department I'll be working for, and I don't think he had any other interviews.
No idea of salary. They're willing to work around my school schedule, and they seem to be very flexible as far as days off. I did get a copy of the benefits package. The medical isn't all that hot, the dental sucks. Well... for a normal person, it doesn't suck, but when
blckwngdorcl needs $3K worth of work, the $1K/year limit sucks. Eventually, we'll get that taken care of. They have an interesting day off policy. Typical vacation, typical holidays. However, they have 2 floating holidays, to be used for religious holidays, if the company isn't already off on your own personal religious holidays. If your holidays are already covered, you get those 2 days to use at your discretion. Pretty cool. Also, even cooler, they have no set number of sick days. They prefer to handle those on an individual basis. How fucking cool is that?
One of the best things I've found in applying for jobs lately is the references section. Thanks to the eLit experience, my friends have been my co-workers. Typically, I'll put
dai_syn,
walkingbear, and
meadowhawk as references - supervisor, director, and co-worker, respectively. If there's another space, I'll add
fornorald, supervisor. I rather like having that option. :)
Anyway, cross your fingers for me!
Anyway, I don't know if the other two chicks there were applying for the same position I was. I don't think so, really, 'cause I don't think they talked to the same department. The guy I interviewed with was the supervisor of the department I'll be working for, and I don't think he had any other interviews.
No idea of salary. They're willing to work around my school schedule, and they seem to be very flexible as far as days off. I did get a copy of the benefits package. The medical isn't all that hot, the dental sucks. Well... for a normal person, it doesn't suck, but when
One of the best things I've found in applying for jobs lately is the references section. Thanks to the eLit experience, my friends have been my co-workers. Typically, I'll put
Anyway, cross your fingers for me!
no subject
Date: 2004-07-15 10:52 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-07-15 11:31 am (UTC)jobs
Date: 2004-07-18 07:34 am (UTC)BTW, what contact info are you giving for meadowhawk and I?
Re: jobs
Date: 2004-07-18 09:49 pm (UTC)