On Being a Tease vs. Putting Out
Jul. 4th, 2004 08:50 pmWell, that doesn't QUITE cover it, but I think that's what I equate it with, when it all comes down to it.
For anyone who's wondering, this is gonna be the post that I alluded to in my earlier post about The Dreaming, and in my response to
jupitercornwall in his LJ quiz thing. And many thanks to
ngtflyer and
blckwngdorcl for doing the geek thing by themselves and letting me come home to make this post, while I was still, at least mostly, in the right frame of mind. :)
I have noticed something about myself in the not-so-recent past. I have trouble being in the moment. This may come as a surprise to some people. Hell, it came as a surprise to me, which perhaps isn't saying much. Interestingly enough, though, I've only noticed it in a couple of situations.
The first, which is more generic, and more benign, and possibly a copout to get out of situations I'm not in the mood to be in in the first place, is my desire to be near
blckwngdorcl, and to sleep in my own bed. To some extent, these two are combined. However, I remember a time, in college, when me and a bunch of friends went over to someone's house to watch A Clockwork Orange, and were basically up all night. I think everyone was planning on crashing there. There was certainly enough crash space, the people were willing, and I felt safe there, as far as I remember. At the time when we were all about ready to fall asleep, I was almost frantic to get home (to my dorm). I was close to being hysterical about it, and ended up calling a cab. My roommates ended up going with me, and I felt bad about that, 'cause it didn't matter to me if they stayed there or not. I just needed to sleep in my own bed. I think, however, that there may have been a sense of wanting to be available for Leo to call me, too, although he certainly never would have at that time of day (about 5-6am), so if that was on my mind, it was completely irrational. At any rate, I don't particularly like spending the night at someone else's house, in a bed not my own. This doesn't apply to my parents' house, for whatever reason. Maybe because they've built the same house, with a few improvements each time, for the past 3 moves, and I lived in the first incarnation, so it's familiar to me, as is the bed I sleep on there. It was also something that made me know
blckwngdorcl was The One, 'cause I felt absolutely comfortable with him on our first date, when I spent the night with him. I slept like a baby, in his arms.
The second part of this, the wanting-to-be-with-my-significant-other part, is somewhat disturbing. It speaks of a dependence that I really don't wish to cultivate, and there have been times I really wanted to get back to him, on the off chance that he might want to be with me. (I realize how that sounds, and I don't mean it like that... it's probably a throwback to Fig.) And really, I think this particular trait was in full swing when I lived with Fig. Granted, left to my own devices, I'm a total homebody. I love to sit on the computer, watch movies, and when I'm in the mood for it, I actually don't mind cleaning the house. My ideal situation in housekeeping goodness was when Fig and I lived together, and he worked every Sunday. I would clean the house, top to bottom spotless, while he was gone. In between cleaning, or as a reward to myself, I would also spend hours talking to
fesser online. I had the place to myself, and enjoyed it. I actually complained on more than one occassion to his manager when they took him off that schedule. But other than Sundays, I was loathe to leave the house. Fig might want me. Didn't matter what for. I mean, I was usually hoping it was to suck his dick, but I wanted to be there for him, to do whatever. I think, looking back on it, I was very clingy in that sense, even though I wasn't actually clinging - I was just making sure I was available. There was this guy, Dwane, in Chicago that I met online, and dated briefly while I was with Fig. I eventually stopped talking to him, not because there was anything wrong with our relationship - he was fascinating, smart, creative, very good in bed, and had a huge dick - but because it took me away from Fig for long periods of time. I still feel bad about that. I never offered him any explanation for it, just allowed it to drift apart. I added his AOL name to my Trillian the other day, on the off chance that he still used it. Actually saw him online, but he didn't answer me. Probably didn't recognize the screenname. Maybe I'll email him someday. But yeah, it was all about being there for Fig, who really didn't want me in that sense. I mean, I think he kinda enjoyed me being there at his beck and call to some extent, but I also know for a fact (because he told me) that he wished I'd get out more, and not just hang out with him. Now that I think of it... hmmmm... a relationship very similar, in some respects, to my roommates. Must ponder that later. Mirror, Mirror...
Anyway, I cling unobtrusively.
blckwngdorcl has commented on it before, too, I think (although not in so many words). I'll not allow myself to get lost in a moment if that moment doesn't involve my significant other. Sometimes even when he's in favor of my having that moment, whatever it may be. I actually have less of a problem with this when I'm with someone and we both understand that sex is on the agenda. It's easy to lose yourself in sex. (I'm going to somewhat contradict this statement in my next point, so be prepared.) This isn't healthy.
blckwngdorcl and I are individuals. We have a lot of interests in common, but there are some things that we don't share a joy in. Of course, I have this great desire to share everything with him. If I find joy in something, I want to share it with him. Not the something, specifically, but the joy itself. At any rate, I once described the ideal romantic relationship (which I think I have) as the whole being greater than the sum of the parts. Not 0.5 + 0.5 = 1, as in the two are one, but 1 + 1 = 3, as in we're each whole unto ourselves, but the two of us combined are incredible. And that's really the kind of relationship I want to be in. And, last I heard, so does he. So this whole sacrificing myself for him really doesn't work for either of our ideals.
The funny thing is, I don't feel like I'm sacrificing at the time. It's an easy distraction from myself. I don't have to be me, if I can immerse myself in an us. Big Libra tendency. But not a good one, the way I'm doing it. It's an excuse, and one I'm going to try not to make anymore. Feel free to call me on this in the future, if I'm visiting any of you, and I use the "Oh, I need to get home to my husband" excuse. Chances are, I'm feeling anxious, or I'm using it as a white lie when I don't want to admit to myself that I'm uncomfortable in a given situation. Which isn't to say I'm not enjoying myself. Sometimes, I might feel that I'm enjoying myself too much. How fucked up is that?
Anyway, that's part of it. But, if you notice, none of that addresses the subject line I used. It's another facet of it, to be sure, and once I started writing about it, it would seem that it troubled me more than I realized. I didn't expect that section to be nearly so long.
But the putting out/tease thing...
I've noticed, mostly at the Vulgar Labrynth, mostly with
jupitercornwall and
druidnaogma that I have trouble losing myself in the moment. As I said earlier, I'm going to contradict myself, because this tendency happens mostly in sexual moments. I've had it with other people, too, but I noticed most at the last party I went to there. If someone approaches me sexually, and there hasn't been something established that's pretty concrete about going "all the way", I tend to hold back. I enjoy the kissing, touching, ogling, casually sexual remarks, but I don't let myself get lost in them. I hold back. There's something inside me that doesn't want to lead someone on, and somewhere along the lines, I somehow equated that sort of play with all-out sex. This even applies to people that I actually want to have sex with, and are on the "OK" list to do so. If I think it's not really going to happen, I hold back. This applies if I know that they aren't going to pursue it totally, for whatever reason, or if I simply have limited resources (not enough time, not enough condoms, not enough lack of menstruation or ovulation), or they do, or whatever else I perceive as a barrier to all-out sex.
Which is allsortsa silly. Kissing/fondling/etc. do not equal sex, and I'd be appalled if anyone suggested that it did. But I've somehow gotten it into my head that it does. And if I can't go there, I hold back from the kissing or whatnot.
This is just stupid. I mean, kissing is FUN. I like kissing, and touching, and all that. I mean, damn. It's fun for its OWN sake. And NOTHING else need come of it. And certainly, I've really not gotten the impression that anyone will think less of me if I were to establish certain boundaries, such as kissing, but no further. And hell, that's not even the CASE. Most the people I've kissed, and am willing to kiss, I would fuck, too. So what's my fucking problem?
And I know I wasn't always that way. I remember at one of
chalice66's fabulous parties, making out with
captain_bob for a long time. It got hot and heavy, and we were both enjoying ourselves very much. I wasn't holding back then, and people actually asked us to back off a bit, because we were making some people uncomfortable. It wasn't that kind of party. Hee... Granted, I was drunk, and decided, much later, that I really wasn't willing to go there with him. Not to mention the fact that
blckwngdorcl and I were still in the early stages of our relationship, and not too terribly long after, decided to not be poly for a while until we dealt with our own shit. (There was no connection between what happened at the party and our decision, by the way.) Maybe I still feel guilty about that? I had corresponded via email with
captain_bob for a while after that, and kinda did him like I did Dwane. Just sorta let it fizzle out. I rarely see him anymore, and I've never really talked to him about it. Hmmmm... maybe that's weighing heavier on me than I think. The fact that I recently tried to contact Dwane again, and the parallels there would certainly point to that. Certainly this post has been buzzing around in my head for a while.
Anyway, I think that's really all I have to say about that. It would seem I need to sit down and have coffee with
captain_bob and maybe send an email to Dwane. I see the former at
tc_borderpagans quite a bit lately... maybe then. The thought is scary. I can feel the fear in myself as I write this. Which, of course, means I REALLY need to do it. And, I hope, means I've also gotten to the core of the issue. Or at least the first layer of it. Nothing else I've pondered has given me this reaction, so I must be on to something.
Anyway, if any of you have noticed me holding back in these situations, I hope this helps as an explanation. It wasn't YOU, it was ME. And, if you feel me doing it again, feel free to call me on it. I didn't really understand it very well before, but I'm hoping that gentle reminders will work if I start doing it again.
Anyway, thanks if you've gotten this far. :)
For anyone who's wondering, this is gonna be the post that I alluded to in my earlier post about The Dreaming, and in my response to
I have noticed something about myself in the not-so-recent past. I have trouble being in the moment. This may come as a surprise to some people. Hell, it came as a surprise to me, which perhaps isn't saying much. Interestingly enough, though, I've only noticed it in a couple of situations.
The first, which is more generic, and more benign, and possibly a copout to get out of situations I'm not in the mood to be in in the first place, is my desire to be near
The second part of this, the wanting-to-be-with-my-significant-other part, is somewhat disturbing. It speaks of a dependence that I really don't wish to cultivate, and there have been times I really wanted to get back to him, on the off chance that he might want to be with me. (I realize how that sounds, and I don't mean it like that... it's probably a throwback to Fig.) And really, I think this particular trait was in full swing when I lived with Fig. Granted, left to my own devices, I'm a total homebody. I love to sit on the computer, watch movies, and when I'm in the mood for it, I actually don't mind cleaning the house. My ideal situation in housekeeping goodness was when Fig and I lived together, and he worked every Sunday. I would clean the house, top to bottom spotless, while he was gone. In between cleaning, or as a reward to myself, I would also spend hours talking to
Anyway, I cling unobtrusively.
The funny thing is, I don't feel like I'm sacrificing at the time. It's an easy distraction from myself. I don't have to be me, if I can immerse myself in an us. Big Libra tendency. But not a good one, the way I'm doing it. It's an excuse, and one I'm going to try not to make anymore. Feel free to call me on this in the future, if I'm visiting any of you, and I use the "Oh, I need to get home to my husband" excuse. Chances are, I'm feeling anxious, or I'm using it as a white lie when I don't want to admit to myself that I'm uncomfortable in a given situation. Which isn't to say I'm not enjoying myself. Sometimes, I might feel that I'm enjoying myself too much. How fucked up is that?
Anyway, that's part of it. But, if you notice, none of that addresses the subject line I used. It's another facet of it, to be sure, and once I started writing about it, it would seem that it troubled me more than I realized. I didn't expect that section to be nearly so long.
But the putting out/tease thing...
I've noticed, mostly at the Vulgar Labrynth, mostly with
Which is allsortsa silly. Kissing/fondling/etc. do not equal sex, and I'd be appalled if anyone suggested that it did. But I've somehow gotten it into my head that it does. And if I can't go there, I hold back from the kissing or whatnot.
This is just stupid. I mean, kissing is FUN. I like kissing, and touching, and all that. I mean, damn. It's fun for its OWN sake. And NOTHING else need come of it. And certainly, I've really not gotten the impression that anyone will think less of me if I were to establish certain boundaries, such as kissing, but no further. And hell, that's not even the CASE. Most the people I've kissed, and am willing to kiss, I would fuck, too. So what's my fucking problem?
And I know I wasn't always that way. I remember at one of
Anyway, I think that's really all I have to say about that. It would seem I need to sit down and have coffee with
Anyway, if any of you have noticed me holding back in these situations, I hope this helps as an explanation. It wasn't YOU, it was ME. And, if you feel me doing it again, feel free to call me on it. I didn't really understand it very well before, but I'm hoping that gentle reminders will work if I start doing it again.
Anyway, thanks if you've gotten this far. :)
no subject
Date: 2004-07-04 10:37 pm (UTC)Quick comment:
Date: 2004-07-05 05:17 am (UTC)Not everybody views a live birth as the only logical result of a pregnancy; I realize not everybody shares my views, but the whole "well what if you got PREGNANT?" question is one that pushes some major buttons for me. I know you're not asking it out of the same malicious impulses that drive people to ask ME that when they find out I'm childfree, of course. I'm just sayin'. ;) At least for now, we still have a choice in the matter. At risk of sounding majorly offensive, my answer to that question is, and always will be and always has been, "That's why the gods made abortion so damned easy." If they didn't want us to do it, babies would be like little aliens from V, and trying to get the lil buggers out would like rip out the mother's internal organs or something. ;) Okay, getting more coffee, I'm clearly out of it still.
And I don't think most poly people really give an infant's paternity much thought anyway. I imagine the concept of raising another man's biological child has occurred to most poly men. ;) Not all of us put a lot of store by the genetics of a person, as indeed you've noted.
My my, I'm using a lot of winkies today, aren't I? But yes, I like what Michelle's said. Food for thought.
Cas
no subject
Date: 2004-07-05 07:14 am (UTC)There will *always* be choices as long as there are certain herbs growing.
And then there's adoption, too, the choice that almost everyone seems to forget. But sometimes it's the very best solution.
--Also Childfree by Choice
no subject
Date: 2004-07-05 09:00 am (UTC)Re: Quick comment:
Date: 2004-07-05 08:53 am (UTC)Thanks, both of you. This is a fabulous thread, and giving me much food for thought! :)
Re: Quick comment:
Date: 2004-07-05 07:46 pm (UTC)I've made both choices, and I know whereof I speak.
Re: Quick comment:
Date: 2004-07-07 01:27 pm (UTC)http://www.prolife.org.uk/abortionThumbnails.htm
http://www.holylamb.com/default2.htm
Re: Quick comment:
Date: 2004-07-07 02:53 pm (UTC)I don't mind discussing this topic in general. But you are clearly someone who's only interest is pushing your ideological agenda, and I'm not interested. Don't try to act all sympathetic; you don't give a crap about me or my freedom or my life. Back the hell off.
Re: Quick comment:
Date: 2004-07-08 11:42 am (UTC)Re: Quick comment:
Date: 2004-07-09 12:37 am (UTC)At this point, I don't know if I should try to set an example for others, such that they aren't scorched....
Or if I should go pop some popcorn and get comfortable.
Re: Quick comment:
Date: 2004-07-09 12:54 am (UTC)One person's guilt is not another's. Nor should it be. I've never been pregnant, but that doesn't mean I don't have an opinion on this sort of subject. I *am*, in fact, pro-choice. Would I make the choice myself to have an abortion? Right now, without that decision in front of me, I think I probably wouldn't. But I might. You never know. The point is, just because in general, I don't care for the concept when it comes to MYSELF, I believe I have NO RIGHT WHATSOEVER to force my own code of morals/ethics/whathaveyou on ANYONE else. I'll be happy to give my opinion on something, but it's tailored to the individual. I might counsel person A to keep a baby because I know that a baby would enrich her (or his) life in a transformative way. I might counsel person B to have an abortion because I know person B has plans for her (or his) life that don't really allow for a child, and, more importantly, for RAISING a child. Perhaps I feel that overpopulation is a huge issue, and that childless couples are childless for a reason and that giving a child up for adoption not only perpetuates the problem of overpopulation, but gives children to people that nature has decided shouldn't have them.
I do not think it's selfish in all cases to choice an abortion over a live birth. Certainly, there are people in the world who use abortion thoughtlessly. Just as there are people in the world who choose live birth thoughtlessly. But there are people who choose abortion wisely, for a myriad of reasons, and there are people who do their homework and do everything to prepare for and love a child they choose to give birth to.
I don't think God (however you define him/her/it/you/me) gets women pregnant in order to bring a child into the world. I think it's just one more chance to make a choice, to create a decision that enriches the world, and enriches themselves. A parent who isn't enriched will not create an enriched child, and the whole world suffers from that ripple effect. A parent who knows they have that choice, and makes an informed choice to have a child and care for it creates enrichment in the world.
Continued
Date: 2004-07-04 10:39 pm (UTC)Michelle Parker
no subject
Date: 2004-07-04 11:28 pm (UTC)As far as the monogamy thing goes, you're both right and wrong with that. Would I like to immerse myself in
I could certainly do all those things with
I understand what you're saying about sex as a teenager vs. sex now. I also consider sex more sacred, more connected, more loving. It's another challenge of mine, actually, because not only did I experience non-loving, non-sacred sex (or at least sex that I didn't view as sacred) when I was younger, I actually shied away from connected sex, feeling too vulnerable in that situation. I've made a lot of strides in overcoming that, mostly with
no subject
Date: 2004-07-04 11:28 pm (UTC)As far as STDs and pregnancy goes, you're right. The only way to prevent either is absolute abstinence, even from one's spouse. I choose not to be celibate with my spouse, and have the benefit of his vasectomy to prevent unwanted pregnancy. Of course, that's not 100%, either. Nor is his disease-free status. Neither of us were virgins when we got married. His first wife cheated on him, and I cheated on my first husband, and had many lovers after my divorce. We've both been recently tested for STDs, and been negative. When I have steady insurance, I get tested yearly, and will encourage
no subject
Date: 2004-07-05 11:25 am (UTC)i realize that might not be addressing how you would fit into this picture, if this is something that happens with many people for you. it might be that you feel threatened in some way about our flirting, or that there could be more than the lust. maybe because it's been so long since we first started flirting, it feels like this ancient, lurking passion that has expectations and tensions running high. if you think that i have been a tease, or that i have gone too far at the wrong times, let me know. i'm all about learning how to better handle people. as far as the austin angle goes, i can easily see holding back after the fudge stripe incident. just kidding.
no subject
Date: 2004-07-05 11:33 am (UTC)You've certainly been a tease, but not in a way I would consider bad. :) I don't feel threatened by you, though. It is sometimes hard to know where to stand, 'cause sometimes you are standoffish to the point where I kinda wonder if the lustful talks weren't really meant the way I took them. But I never really considered that as a fault of yours. Typical of me, to take everything on to myself.
But thank you for that insight. It's nice to know what it's like on the other side of the coin. :)
But I have no idea what you're talking about with the fudge stripe incident... :)