bookofmirrors: (Default)
[personal profile] bookofmirrors
....15 points to anyone who knows where that came from...

Anyway.

Have a few things to say first of all. Most of you are familiar with my feast or famine style of LJ writing, and I've certainly been in the middle of a famine lately, although several deep and possibly thought-provoking (to me, at least) posts are percolating in my head. As of now, though, I'm not inclined to write them yet. It's partially a mood thing, and right now, it's definitely a time-constraint thing. My LJ feast days are certainly ones that are free from any other obligations, so I can just sit and type and type and think and type... you get the picture. And I'm going to be very busy for the next several days, so although the spirit is starting to be willing again, the flesh, so to speak, is weak.

My state of not-being-in-the-mood-to-post has also, I'm afraid, made me less likely to comment on other people's LJ's, or even to respond to comments made on mine. Basically, I'll answer the "easy" ones, but at this point, the more kickass and/or thought-provoking your post is, or the more it touches me, the less likely I am to respond to it. Them's the breaks. It's my intention to try to remedy that when I get around to posting lots, but I may miss some people, and for that, I apologize. I still read you guys' stuff, so don't think I haven't been "listening".



First of all, many apologies to [livejournal.com profile] keiracaitlyn. I'll explain what happened towards the end of the post (since it was towards the end of my day).

So, last night, I decide it would be awesome to have lunch with [livejournal.com profile] blckwngdorcl. "Lunch" for me being at about 2am, and there are times like that when I'm pleased he's a night owl. So, we meet at "our" Waffle House - "our" table was taken *pout*, but we had a good time, anyway, and we had a simply wonderful talk (the subject of which will be one of the upcoming posts, no doubt). So, I'm on my way back to work, and I get pulled over. Obviously, my anti-cop-and-other-inconveniences ward hadn't been reinforced enough. I had let it lapse when the car was no longer in danger of being repossessed, and had only just barely re-erected it, under pressure. Plus, the first time, [livejournal.com profile] blckwngdorcl added his energy to it. Anyway, said cop notices that my tags have expired. I get a ticket for that, and a warning for going 50 in a 35 zone. *sigh*

Enter the wealthy father of generosity, and my quest for legal tags. I left from work and went straight to the emissions place we've always used for [livejournal.com profile] blckwngdorcl's car (this was the first year I'd had to do it. They weren't quite open, so I used the extra time to call my bank to find out my balance. Not enough for emissions. Oops. Home to catch up email/LJ and to wait for a good time to call the aforementioned WFOG. Did I mention I love my father? Anyway, after about an hour nap, new money in account, I head back to the emissions place, and get my bright shiny (poetic license... so sue me) piece of paper that says I'm not in any immediate danger of single-handedly destroying the ozone layer. Woo hoo. Off to the tag office.

I was a good K'La. I've had my old LNGFSH tag in my car for the longest time, in hopes that if I ever got around to going to the tag office, I could turn it in to be properly destroyed. Also, I wanted to get rid of my KLA22 tag, due to previously-mentioned-in-LJ math error that made me pick that one to begin with. So, I unscrewed it, and gathered both tags and took them into the office. The chick I got seemed to be in training, but pleasant, and not clueless, as with some trainees I've seen. Several paperwork issues came up during the process. First of all, I needed proof that I now live in Cobb county instead of Fulton. I had a phone bill in the car, but had forgotten to bring it in. Luckily, I had a paycheck stub in my purse from last week, and they took that as proof. So, that was averted. They get through practically the whole process, and then the lady working with the trainee got this kinda confused/suspicious look on her face. "That's not even the same name," she pointed out. Think, think. Oh yeah... Name change. Never fear - I keep a copy of the legal documentation of my name change in my purse for just such occassions. Problem mostly solved, although they pretty much had to go back in and re-do everything. Another annoyance was that, even though I had the documentation, my registration still had to be in my old name, unless I could get the title from GMAC with my new name on it. I have 2 more years to pay on the car, so that's not likely. So I'll have mismatched registration, which sucks. :(

Hands down, though, the WORST part about that whole ordeal....

I... have... a...

******BORING******

license plate.

This is COMPLETELY unacceptable to me.

Ever since I have owned (or leased) my own cars, I have had vanity plates. As soon as the title for the 1975 Chevy Monte Carlo that originally belonged to my grandmother came into my hot little hands, I changed the state-issue GN 5337 (I'm SUCH a dork to remember that, from 12 years ago) to LNGFSH 2 (in Illinois, if you added a number, it didn't cost any more to get a vanity plate - actually, with the number, it was called a personalized plate - vanity was without the number... but I digress, kinda). When I moved to Georgia, I got the aforementioned LNGFSH followed by the also-aforementioned KLA22. So, when I turned in those plates and said I wanted another vanity plate, they said I couldn't have one. WTF?? Apparently, the state is coming out with new plates next year, and they aren't issuing anything new until the changeover happens. So, I had my choice between keeping KLA22 (which I already had my heart set on getting rid of), getting a plain old boring GA plate, or getting one of the preserve wildlife ones (they had quails and something else I don't remember left). With MUCH reluctance, I got the plain ole boring plate. *sigh* I couldn't even tell you what my number is.

HOWEVER, the one bright spot is that they did let me RESERVE a vanity plate, which I can pick up as soon as it's available. This means that I get the plate I want, just not right now. So, when the time comes, I'll at least get the tag I want, which will be MIRRORS.

So there.

OK, so in addition to all this, I haven't ever gotten around to changing the address on my driver's license since we moved here. I figured I'd better do this, and I was already kinda in that mode, so might as well, right? So I got directions from the nice lady and made my way over to County Services Road so I could get this done. Word of advice: Take the drive to Fulton County for this one. This is NOT a good place.

It was crowded as fuck, for one thing. The waiting time stamped on my number was 51 minutes, which was pretty accurate, although it didn't account for the second and third lines I had to stand in to complete the process. Luckily, I had brought a book. There were shitloads of people there and very limited seating space (certainly not nearly enough for everyone). I happened to luck out the first time around, and was able to sit for the first initial approximately 51 minutes. When I got called, I was expecting the standard address-change procedure. Oh no. Already had too many of those. Needed a new license altogether. OK, this wasn't so bad. Until she told me I would have to have a new picture taken. Oh HELL no. I had NOT come prepared to have my picture taken. However, I had no come prepared to sit around for almost an hour and go home empty-handed, either.

*SIGH*

So, I go from that line to another line. No seating for this one, just standing against a wall in an already-crowded area. I futzed with my hair and shit, hoping I wouldn't have to live with something horrible for the next few years. The lady at the counter for the picture was the highlight of the ordeal. She mispronounced my name as kuh-LA'. When I corrected her (KAY-la), she said that she must have been thinking of the Klingon pronunciation. She looked about 50, and kinda like a Dana Carvey character... score one for her. She even said something about if she had pronounced it some other way, it would have been Vulcan. Sweet. Anyway, picture taken (and it wasn't bad! W00t!) and I'm on my way.

I decide to head home. Keep in mind, that area of town always confuses the hell outta me. Last time I was there, in fact, I ended up 2/3 of the way to Dallas. Not pretty. Anyway, I called [livejournal.com profile] blckwngdorcl to give him an update on my day (not quite so detailed as this), and to ask him where I was based on the streets I was on/passing. I was heading the wrong way (of course), so I ended up turning around. I was on Austell Road, and I noticed that I came up on South Cobb Drive. Well, I'm thinking this is a good thing, 'cause I know the main Starship store is on the corner of South Cobb drive and Windy Hill, so I'm thinking that I can stop there on the way, and buy some stuff that I'd been told to get. Two birds, one stone, and sex. Except that apparently, where I turned on to South Cobb, I was already too far... ummm... too far in the direction that wasn't the direction that I needed to go. By the time I realized where I was, I was awfully close to home, so I just said fuck it. I had already scored a cheap lunch date with my beautiful husband, and we were both starving. So, picked him up, and we did the Popeyes thing, which was pretty good. I dropped him off at Harmony, and proceeded to head over to [livejournal.com profile] keiracaitlyn's house for her energywork/reiki class that was scheduled for tonight. The drive was icky. Dark, rainy, 6pm, Atlanta, spaghetti junction. What more need I say? However, I'd left in plenty of time, and was doing pretty well with that. So, I get to the point where I get off 85 and I'm supposed to take the road instead of the highway. Apparently, I chose badly, and ended up somewhere else. I was in what appeared to me to be bumfuck, so I drove until I found an intersection with common roads on it, and pulled over into a gas station (Jimmy Carter Boulevard and Buford Highway... was I anywhere near the right place??). So, I pull out my handy-dandy cell phone and begin scrolling through the numbers. Ummmm... shit... Where was her number? Shit. Never fear! I have one of her cards, and it has her phone number on it! Ummmm.... not there.... not there either... nor there... nor there... FUCK. [livejournal.com profile] grizzlydan! [livejournal.com profile] grizzlydan has her number! And he could give it to me! Or even maybe give me directions to her place from where I was! Oh boy! Home phone... cell phone... Really great messages on both voicemails, showcasing his killer voice. I didn't leave a message. It was one of those now-or-never calls, y'know? Ummmmmm... ummmmm.... flip through list of phone numbers. [livejournal.com profile] isarma! I'm sure she knows [livejournal.com profile] keiracaitlyn's number! Oh wait... they have a new phone number, and I've never gotten around to putting it in my phone. But wait! There's hope yet! [livejournal.com profile] profundis is sure to have the new number to the Vulgar Labrynth! I'm saved! Ummm... except that neither he nor [livejournal.com profile] logomancer seemed to be home. I call [livejournal.com profile] blckwngdorcl at this point, to see if she's called the house looking for me, or maybe IMed. She hadn't. (When I got home, there was an IM on my desktop, but it was after he looked.) Thinking back now, I think she maybe told me her phone number in an IM, but I didn't remember that at the time, or else I would have had him look it up for me. At this point, it's past 7:30pm, I have no idea how close I am to her place, and I have no way that I can think of to get a hold of her. Also pretty much figuring that if I did, not only would I disrupt whatever had already been started, but would do so even more when I eventually got there.

At this point, I'm figuring the gods don't really WANT me to take this class, 'cause this is the second aborted attempt to do so. Either that or I'm resisting it. The latter is pyschologically more likely, although I can't think of a reason why I would be. Well, y'know. Except for that annoyingly stereotypical fear of my own power drama. I do so hate having typical neuroses.

So, now I'm figuring that I drove my ass all the way over to fucking Gwinnett county, and I'd have to drive back. But I also remember that [livejournal.com profile] 2syn had mentioned there was a Coffee Shop of Horrors in the area. Fuck it. So, I called him up, to ask for directions to it. Turned out it was in fucking GAINESVILLE. At this point, though, I'm stubbornly determined to make SOMETHING of my night (and didn't feel like visiting him in a new place in my present mood... sorry dude), and he was kind enough to get on his computer and give me their number. I called, determined that I could easily get there before they closed, and headed off. More darkness, more rain, plus roads I didn't know. Anyway, finally got there.

I was kinda disappointed, although not wholly so. Cute little shop, although I could have made it MUCH more horrific. [livejournal.com profile] tbrents house beats it, really. They had a few cool-ish mugs, but none that I had to have, a few bags of chocolate-covered espresso beans (Bat Eggs), and some tea. The tea was in a darkened and somewhat cramped section of the store, so I didn't look it over too closely. I was really hoping to be able to find a sample pack of all their coffees, but no such luck. They only sold it by the half pound or pound, and I didn't feel like spending that much. And the coffees of the day were boring things like Costa Rican and Papua New Guinea. Their own blend, but I was really hoping to be able to try the more interesting flavors like Burial Grounds and Zombie Dirt. Oh well. Had the Costa Rican, which was OK. I sat at this little round table that was pretty awesome. It was painted up to look like a Ouija board, with the added spaces of "Good Caf" and "Not So Good Decaf". I also got a piece of red velvet (vampire) cake. Keep in mind that I'm constantly disappointed by red velvet cakes that I try in cafes/restaurants. None are NEARLY as good as mine. This one was. Definitely recommended.

I also lucked out to be there when a duet was performing. A girl and a guy, both with beautiful voices, doing songs like "Me and Bobby McGee". He was touted as a "smartass Englishman" on the flyers. He did mention that he was once in a bar, in which also happened to be at the same time, Boris Karloff's (or maybe Bela Lugosi's) daughter, the guy who played the orc (maybe he meant urukei [sp?]?) who kicked Aragorn's ass at the end of FOTR, and the guy who played Boba Fett (Jeremy somebody-or-other, I think). He said he was sure that was the makings of a joke. ("An orc, Boba Fett, and Bela Lugosi's daughter walk into a bar.......")

Anway, drank the coffee, ate the cake, and headed back home. I did note that the neighborhood the place was in was pretty cool. Very quirky, and most likely worth a look-see during business hours.

And that, boys and girls, is my day in a nutshell.

Tomorrow, I have 2 interviews, and I work midnights after that. Wish me luck!

Date: 2003-11-06 05:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] acid0philus.livejournal.com
Hee Haw... I'm a sad sad man.

Date: 2003-11-06 05:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] acid0philus.livejournal.com
Does G still eat the steak and eggs?

Date: 2003-11-06 06:13 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bookofmirrors.livejournal.com
At Waffle House? Sometimes... He had cheesesteak last night, though... which is a story in and of itself...

Still trying to decide what people can redeem those points for.

Suggestions?

Date: 2003-11-06 06:28 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] acid0philus.livejournal.com
Hmmm... well, last friday was fun for me. Not often I see a chest other than M's. She benefitted from the randy mood it put me in on saturday morning... You deliciously evil woman. heeheeheeeeeeee

Date: 2003-11-06 05:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] profundis.livejournal.com
"...deep dark depression, excessive misery...if it weren't for bad luck, I've have no luck at all...gloom, despair, and agony on meeeee!"

*bows*

*collects prize*

Date: 2003-11-06 06:14 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bookofmirrors.livejournal.com
I think in your case, the prize will be a night of hot sex...

With ME!!!!

Oh wait... maybe that would be my prize......

Date: 2003-11-06 06:27 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] profundis.livejournal.com
Aigh! Incest! With a woe-man no less!

Date: 2003-11-06 07:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spy-isis.livejournal.com
The big Starship on Cobb has been closed for like a month...not sure why, think it got raided. Sorry you had a rotten day.

Date: 2003-11-06 02:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] isarma.livejournal.com
Fuck! It's hee haw, but I see I'm not the first.

Date: 2003-11-06 05:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] waterfall-sh.livejournal.com

Since there's already several answers of "Hee-Haw" (which my grandfather inflicted on me EVERY night for almost three years), I thought I'd let you know:

If you notify GMAC that you've legally changed your name, they should be able to make the title correct. (Although they might charge you $25 - $50 for filing the paperwork).

On the day you "buy" the car, the title is put in your name. It has to be in your name so that you can get tags and such. To protect GMAC, they keep the piece of paper until you pay it off, and they put themselves on a line called "lein-holder", which basically tells the insurance company and the government that you haven't finished paying for it yet. To change the name on the title, they will need a copy of your name-change papers, and probably a signed form authorizing them to file the paperwork on your behalf. Then you can get your tags changed appropriately.

Of course, now, when everyone's short on cash, is probably not the best time to sped $$ on fixing the name on a title you haven't finished paying for yet, but there you go. :-)

Sorry you had a bad day. At least your gossip was good. ;-)

Date: 2003-11-06 08:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blckwngdorcl.livejournal.com
Hee Haw

I knew it before I saw everyone elses' answer...

Profile

bookofmirrors: (Default)
BookOfMirrors

January 2017

S M T W T F S
123 4567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 10:32 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios