bookofmirrors: (Soft)
[personal profile] bookofmirrors
Today has been such a fabulous day. My shift at work got cancelled last night, so I was able to get some much-needed sleep after having stayed awake MUCH too long the night/day before. Woke up without the aid of an alarm clock in plenty of time to go to the "Winter Market" they were having just outside the co-op (which is attached to the mall, so they can have such things inside during the winter months) and pick up the veggies and homemade raw cheese I'd ordered, put a down-payment on my doe-share, and try to get some of the hot sauce that we like. (No go on the hot sauce... but I ordered a case of it, since we've been having trouble getting it.

From there, I stopped at Walgreens to pick up another set of Valentine lights for the balcony - one of the ones I'd gotten before didn't work.

Then off to the roastery, where I found that my streak of getting there less than an hour AFTER they'd closed was still good. Don't get me wrong, they make good flavored coffee, and I like the flavors we have (spiced buttered rum, St. Patty's toddy, tiramisu), but it gets old after a while. I need some coffee-flavored-coffee, dammit!

From there, I stopped at a place to trade one of my Christmas gifts for a different color, and then on to Penneys to pick up the blanket I'd ordered/upgraded to.

Since I have the bestest husband in the whole wide world, he helped me carry not just that stuff up, but the other 2 packages of upgrade-the-bedroom with creative exchange/upgrades of Christmas presents. I figured that a few laundry loads later, and we could have the whole thing set up! Sadly, though, the fabulously decadent (and CHEAP) comforter set turned out to be a queen-size, and the company wasn't open today to arrange the return. So, I have new sheets and a new electric blanket, pretty much ready to go, once the replacement gets here. So, I'll have to wait, but at least the laundry part of it is done.

I replaced the lights, and I now have delightful glowing heart-shaped lights on my balcony. I'm hoping they carry similar lights for every holiday. I'm envisioning shamrocks for St. Patrick's Day, eggs and/or bunnies for Easter, flowers for May/June (or whatever), flags and/or stars for 4th of July, fall leaves for August/September, pumpkins and/or some other Halloween-y thing for Halloween, turkeys and/or pilgrims for Thanksgiving, and Christmas trees and/or some other Christmas-y thing for Christmas. I actually adore decorating, and I haven't been able to do it in a while, so just the thought of being able to be festive in this small way delights me no end. When I get around to taking the defective ones back, I think I'm going to exchange them for some pink ones that I can keep up in my office year-round.

I cut up and/or pulverized (based on the Beastie's texture preferences) a bunch of veggies and put 'em in the Crock Pot with the last of the turkey for soup. It didn't taste right last I checked, so I added a shitload of curry. Curry makes most things better. :)

I cleaned the kitchen, folded some laundry (with the Beastie's help... king-sized bedding is much easier with 2 people), fed the cats when they wanted it, and finally got around to cutting up the SCoBY for the kombucha, which I'll finish preparing after dinner, once I look up the ratio of tea to water, plus all the other ingredients. Then it has to sit around for like 15-30 days, so it'll be no-maintenance for a bit.

I prepped dinner for tonight (which I said we'd eat in 10 minutes... yikes!) - beef shoulder with carrots and potatoes, and some pulverized things (including my new fave, black garlic) that's been slow-roasting for quite some time, watched some TV, did other various useful things...

Also, figured out about what I'm going to be making at my new job... plenty enough to pay the rent, and then some, even when I guesstimated the cost of the insurance coming out. Could also cover one other major expense - either the insurance (car/etc.), the phones, or the monthly stuff - gas/groceries/etc. - but not all of those. When the Beastie gets a job, we should be able to stand on our own two (er... four?) feet again, which will be FABULOUS.

Anyway, it's just been such a good day, and I've been terribly productive, so I had to share. :)

Hope the rest of you are doing as well as I am!

Date: 2010-01-24 06:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] always-a-storm.livejournal.com
Geez, I'm tired just reading this! If you ever dump the Beastie, I want to marry you. I'm not bi so you'd have to keep him for sex. :)

Date: 2010-01-26 02:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bookofmirrors.livejournal.com
Oh, honey, that's just 'cause you haven't met the right woman! ;)

Profile

bookofmirrors: (Default)
BookOfMirrors

January 2017

S M T W T F S
123 4567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:26 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios