bookofmirrors: (Default)
[personal profile] bookofmirrors
From [livejournal.com profile] popfiend (By the way, [livejournal.com profile] popfiend, if you'll pick something from here, I'll use it for you from now on.)

A. Each tagged person must post 8 things about themselves on their journal.
B. At the end, you have to choose and tag 8 people.




1. I'm adopted. I'm not sure why that popped into my head first, since I usually don't think about it, but it did. Probably because I was thinking about adoption earlier, in relation to my husband, who was also adopted. It's one of the many strange coincidences about our common backgrounds. Mine was one of those pre Roe-vs-Wade, when my parents were on the waiting list for a girl, and I was the next one born, so presto! I have 2 older sisters, both biological children of my adoptive parents, but I never really thought of myself as adopted, even though I knew at a pretty early age. And yes, I've spoken to both my biological parents. I still periodically call my biological mother, and I kinda lost my biological father's contact info, and haven't gone out of my way to find it. No reason for that, other than I'm lazy.

2. I've never seen a ghost. (WTF with all this random shit popping into my head???) I've heard ghosts (fucked up unintelligible TommyBoythroughafanLukeIamyourfather shit, and another time, heavy breathing), and felt ghosts, and even had weird dreams that I'm quite sure came from ghosts. But I've never actually seen one. I want to, though.

3. I make designs out of my initials. This is how I came up with K'La, actually, when I was trying to make a design out of what my initials would be when I married userinfoBlckwngdOrcl. My current design is completely unintelligible from the K L A (and somewhat inaccurate, since there's not really an "L" anymore), since writing it fast results in something that doesn't look like that at all, but is easily distinguishable (by people who know I sign my name that way) as my "sigil". I had to actually write out my name for holiday cards this year, so people would know it was me.

4. Speaking of holiday cards... I used to be religious about sending out cards... holiday, birthday, you name it. Never good at Thank You cards, but everything else... but, probably about 10 years ago or so, I just stopped. No idea why. This will be the first year I send cards out to family in FOREVER. I fully expect there to be several heart attacks as a result. For birthday cards, I would go with a list of all the birthdays for the coming year, and head to my favorite (now nonexistent) card shop in the town I went to college. It had everything from the really sappy Blue Mountain Arts cards, to Adult Only cards. I would buy for the entire year, address them, put the date where the stamp would go, and put them on my desk, in order, so that the next one due out would be on top. I'd glance at the dates periodically, pop a stamp on when it was time, and viola! Nowadays, I can't remember the last time I got a birthday card.

5. Speaking of birthdays... I'm fanatical about mine. I won't work (I did once, but I refused to stay overtime... it was during a state inspection) on my birthday, and it's ALL ABOUT ME on that day. If you're around me that day, you have to do whatever I say, do the things I want to do, etc.. The birthday lasts from midnight the day of, and goes until 24 hours after the actual time of birth the next day. This doesn't buy me much more time, since I was born at 9:10am. My husband, for whom I enforce the same rules, gets a much better deal, since he was born at 7:30pm.

6. I'm not particularly artistic. If I'm creative, it's in things like home decoration (my ideas don't always match my budget). I like themes in each room. Currently, our bedroom/master bathroom has a celestial motif... this is because in our first real apartment, we called it The Dreaming (before the pagan festival of the same name came about, no connection, name-wise), and the living room was done in a celestial theme. When we moved into Harmony, since we were sharing the place, we wanted to take a piece of The Dreaming with us, so we switched the bedroom (previously done in green and purple, my husband's and my favorite colors, respectively) to a celestial theme. It's stayed that way mostly 'cause I can't afford to switch it back to green and purple. The office, however, is green and purple. The kitchen is all in pastels, because it's basically decorated with Lenox Village (if you'll recall, an entire theme of stuff set off by this spice rack back in the 80s. I love it, and I have most of the pieces. I lost the Christmas ornaments in the great storage shed debacle. The living room is "Earth", done in cherry wood and greens, with some pics of the Beastie's from his first marriage, framed seasonal prints from a Japanese calendar (some of the set was lost in a car crash). The family room is "Water", so has chairs that are kinda like beach chairs, but needs some blue in it. The dining room doesn't really have a theme, but was originally going to be ....hmmmm... I can't remember now which element. We were gonna put our spiritual stuff there, though, but it didn't work out that way. The guest bathroom is fish-y.

7. Ummmm.... I'm running out of steam here... (more on that in a later, much shorter, post). I don't have any children. This is because I'm absolutely fanatical about how kids should be raised. I think the book Touching, by Ashley Montagu should be required learning for all humans. I believe in homebirth, attachment parenting, breastfeeding on demand, elimination communication, homeschooling, and the child-raising philosophies of Alfie Kohn. All these things are very much in keeping with all the studying I've done of human behavior over the years, and especially the teachings of Core Energetics, which I've found over and over again to be the most accurate portrayal of human development. Yes, I'm biased, but it's an educated bias. At any rate, I know that under my current circumstances, I can't be the parent a child deserves, and as a result, I simply won't be a parent. I'd rather go through this lifetime without a child than have one I can't care for in the way I choose. That being said, I would love having a child more than just about anything.

8. I am a coffee snob. I blame this on userinfoElephantAnkh who used to host coffee tastings at the Starbucks he worked at. It was there I actually learned how to taste coffee, and develop an appreciation for all the subtle nuances. I have to be pretty desperate for caffeine nowadays to drink the cheap stuff. My personal favorite right now is Counter Culture Coffee. Go. Buy some. Now.

Date: 2008-12-08 03:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] popfiend.livejournal.com
Thanks for sharing these.

Unfortunately, I got nothing out of the icon list.

But I'm glad you thought enough of me to try.

Made my evening.

Thank you.

*HUG*

Date: 2008-12-08 03:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bookofmirrors.livejournal.com
Hooray! One of the famous [livejournal.com profile] popfiend hugs! :)

Date: 2008-12-08 04:16 am (UTC)

Profile

bookofmirrors: (Default)
BookOfMirrors

January 2017

S M T W T F S
123 4567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 11:01 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios