Jun. 4th, 2006

Dream

Jun. 4th, 2006 02:14 am
bookofmirrors: (Sandman)
I fell asleep early, and am now up for a while. Had an interesting dream...

I was at work, and some chick came in for some sort of facial procedure, which I'd only ever been trained on once, but I was the only one there, 'cause we all thought we were done for the day, and everyone else had left. So, I'm trying to fake treating her, but while she's waiting, and I'm fumbling around looking for equipment, something happens to her. Can't remember what, but it postpones the treatment. Work has somehow been connected with a house, which I think was supposed to belong to my parents, but was unlike any I'd ever seen, but I'm wandering all over the house trying to find the equipment to complete her procedure, 'cause, in spite of whatever issue she's having, she still hasn't just up and said she's going to reschedule and go home, so I'm still not sure if I'm gonna hafta pull this out of my ass or not.

Then, suddenly I'm in a grocery store of some sort. I think I'm part of some group of people going there together, almost like a tour group, but I'm not interacting with any of them. Rob Lowe is there, and flirting with me. Then, either he leaves, or he becomes Kyle Hoskins (more on him later), who is also flirting with me, pretty heavily. It's one of those things where you meet a random stranger, and the sparks just ignite. We're leaving together in the parking lot, and something happens, and he has to leave, so he's taking off, and I'm all like, "Kyle, wait!", and he hesitates, and says that he doesn't remember telling me his name. I told him that he didn't, but that I'd grown up in his hometown, and recognized him, and hadn't said anything, because I wasn't sure if he recognized me. I asked him if his bus stop had been on Cardinal or Bluebird. He said Bluebird. (I actually think his stop was a different one.) I told him that I'd been on Oriole, and he said he maybe remembered me, but that I looked so different now. (In my dream, I was a frumpy kid, but had grown into someone beautiful, in the societally-accepted sense.) Anyway, he left, and the woman from work was back, in the parking lot, still having some sort of illness issue going on. I fussed over her a bit, hiding my impatience, and gently suggesting that if she felt so bad, she should go home and rest, and of course it wouldn't be any trouble at all to reschedule her. I think I finally got her to leave.

Anyway, after that, I go driving to try to find Kyle, in the dark. I end up allsortsa places I have no idea when I am, and somehow ended up stopping at some sort of festival/vendor-y looking place. It was daylight. The place I ended up was a glass vendor - blown glass and such. The people there were the cool hippie type, but they were a little weird, like the type you'd meet in a horror movie, who seem basically normal, but they're just a little off, and you later find out they're in a weird cult or something, and you're going to be their human sacrifice. I wasn't frightened of them yet, though - just that "off" feeling. Anyway, I kept asking where I was, saying that I'd driven all night, looking for this guy, and was lost, and I just wanted to know what town I was in. I kept thinking I was in Lithonia, but no one would confirm that, and I felt they were being deliberately obtuse, not quite answering the question I was asking. In the meantime, one of the glass chicks took off my glasses and was painting little flowers in the corner of my lenses (although the paint was actually glass).

I woke up around then, and I'm not quite sure why this dream has stuck with me, other than the whole Kyle Hoskins thing. I mean, Kyle Hoskins??? This is a guy, maybe a couple of years older than me, who grew up in the same subdivision I did (Melody Acres - hence all the bird name streets), with whom I didn't hang out at all. I mean, it was a small town, and the subdivision was an even smaller slice of that, so of course I knew him, knew who he was, and I would presume he knew me, as well. He stuck out a bit because of his strikingly blonde (platinum) hair and ice-blue eyes. Good-looking guy. At the time, not knowing him at all, and being a judgemental child with low self-esteem, I assumed he was dickhead. I don't specifically recall any instances of such, only that his parents were well-to-do, and he seemed stuck up. I haven't thought about him since I moved from Warsaw when I was 15, and I wracked by brain when I woke up, trying to figure out why the fuck he would be in my dreams.

Actually, it's Q100's fault - they were talking about guys wearing girls jeans, and that immediately brought Kyle to mind - I remember he had taken to wearing Jordache jeans (the height of fashion at the time), which I had always thought were chick clothes. (Not that he didn't look good in them, 'cause he did.) So, that's, I suppose, why he was on my mind. Still, though, I can't help wondering if there's more to it than that, 'cause that's how I think. I tried Googling his name, but nothing with pictures came up in the sites I looked at, so no luck there.

*shrug*

Awake

Jun. 4th, 2006 05:33 am
bookofmirrors: (Default)
Well, I appear to be awake for a while, if not the duration. I tried going to bed shortly after my last post, and was so fucking cold... I snuggled up to the polar bear husband, who keeps it FREEZING in the house at night. To his credit, I've seen him wake up and sit bolt upright out of a sound sleep ready to vomit on more than one occassion, if he gets too hot at night, so it's kind of a necessity for him. And, I actually like it colder in the house to sleep, so I can snuggle under several and/or thick blankets.

But tonight, I was literally shivering, even pressed up as close to him as I could. I finally got up to take a hot shower, which tends to be the only thing that will really warm me up in those circumstances. It did, and I crawled back into bed, but now I can't sleep. I'm wearing clothes (blasphemy!) now, in hopes of maintaining my post-shower heat, and sitting idly on the computer, with not much of a clue as to what to do. Too bad I'm not really in an introspective posty mood, 'cause this would be a perfect opportunity for that.

It makes me wish our meditation room really was a meditation room, 'cause I'd find myself a book and curl up and read. I have visions of there being a papasan chair in there for that purpose (even though userinfoBlckwngdOrcl isn't fond of them). *shrug* That's one of the things in the house that'll require some shopping, both to clear it out (need shelves and containers for storage) and to revamp it into a meditation room (big curtain, shelves, cabinets, papasan) of my current vision. Ah, well.

Till then, I'll be surfing idly. I'm hoping to get sleepy again.
bookofmirrors: (Contemplation)
Pirate Monkey's Harry Potter Personality Quiz
Harry Potter Personality Quiz
by Pirate Monkeys Inc.

In other news, I have an article rebutting the previous article I posted, but it's long, and dealing with the formatting to try and make it more readable for LJ is proving a pain in the ass. I'll get to it eventually.

userinfoLuneNoire and I just got back from seeing The Da Vinci Code at the Midtown Art Cinema. I adore that theatre. Organic coffee, wine, beer - *heart*. And Strongbow, too! *sticks tongue out at userinfoBlckwngdOrcl, who declined to come along* Not a bad movie. It's been a while since I read the book, so I probably missed several of the parts that didn't match up to the book, but some were clear enough. It certainly wasn't as OMGWHATHAPPENSNEXT??? as the book was, but it was pretty good nonetheless.

On one hand, I love living in Atlanta. I mean, I love this whole artsy thing, being able to go to all these indy movies, coffee shops (although I love Starbucks, especially now knowing they aren't the evil empire), quirky stores, not-so-quirky stores (Ikea!), and having a lot of weirdos like myself congregating in one place. It kicks much ass. On the other hand, I long for userinfoBlckwngdOrcl's dream of a house square in the middle of 100 acres of land. *shrug* I'm fickle like that.

userinfoBlckwngdOrcl and I are now off for a bookstore date, so userinfoLuneNoire can watch Crash in peace. I'll be home eventually. I have David tonight, so it's kinda gonna fill up my day, but it's all laziness and good friends, coffee and books (and cheesecake? *bats eyes at husband*), so life is good.

Profile

bookofmirrors: (Default)
BookOfMirrors

January 2017

S M T W T F S
123 4567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios