Feb. 3rd, 2006

bookofmirrors: (Default)
OK, I'm awake and exhausted at 4AM. My left ankle, which often gives me fits, is giving me something I can't even describe right now. I have this great ankle brace thing that [personal profile] lunenoire bought me a long time ago when it was acting up this bad. Usually, putting the brace on works like a charm. Not so today. I've also taken enough Lortab (also from [personal profile] lunenoire, from back when he had his surgery) to choke a goat. It's not working, although, to be fair, it hasn't been in my system long enough to. However, it is throbbing so painfully I can't sleep, so I'm here instead. Which is another bad sign. Usually if it hurts, and I stay in bed, it's fine. Not so now. Actually, I was hoping that perhaps sitting up might do the trick, but it's clearly not. *sigh* I'm not sure if it's been doing this since I went to bed or not. [personal profile] blckwngdorcl just came to bed a few minutes ago, which woke me, and now I can't get back to sleep 'cause of the pain. So, I may have been sleeping through it prior to that. Which I suppose is encouraging, since it indicates that I could at least do that at the time, since it wasn't hurting like this when I went to bed.

Anyway, even though, in the past, even narcotics have done nothing to ease the pain of this ankle when it flares up, I'm praying the Lortab works. Partially 'cause I'm not enjoying the pain, and partially 'cause my status at work right now, what with call-offs and being late and such lately isn't necessarily good. Remember when I changed my schedule, 'cause I was getting sick all the time, and the owner said I clearly needed a schedule that allowed me at least 2 days off in a row? Well, that was going well. Then, in the month of January, we had lots of staffing issues, so I foolishly volunteered to work every day they were open, for the whole month, open to close. The only exception was my Core classes. Unfortunately, my thought that I'd had enough downtime in the prior months to be able to pull something like that off was COMPLETELY wrong. I started feeling like shit again, both physically and mentally, almost immediately. This resulted in a relapse of lateness, and I ended up calling off the day after my classes, completely at the end of my rope. A co-worker offered to work the following day for me, which was great, and I was able to get some much-needed rest. I also tried very hard not to feel guilty about it. I succeeded marginally the first day, and did pretty well the second. I gave myself permission to do nothing, and that worked so well, I felt energized enough to be more productive around the house than I'd been in a long time. Figures. Anyway, I was hoping that those days off would recharge me enough to work the rest of the days I had scheduled that month. Sadly, even that didn't happen. I was late several more times. One was related to the ankle thing - I had to turn around halfway to work and come home and get the brace so I could make it through the day. It worked, although I had it on so tight, and was walking around on it such that it cut into my skin - something which is being exacerbated even as we speak, as it hasn't fully healed yet. There was even a day when the dryer did freaky shit on me. I'd put my clothes in the night before, per usual, and the next day, they weren't dry. It took another full cycle, plus some, for everything to dry. I couldn't go to work until my uniform was dry (we only have one smock apiece), so I was home indefinitely. When I finally got to work, I sat down with the manager and apologized for my performance lately, and included the fact that my belief system is such that I believe my subconscious mind affects not only my own actions, but the world around me. Basically, that I somehow caused the dryer to break so I could be late to work. Presumably to get more rest, which didn't exactly work, since I was otherwise up and ready to go to work, and I didn't go back to sleep or anything. My subconscious clearly needs better tactics. Oh... wait... *glances at ankle* Never mind...

*sigh* So, hence my being here now. Strange thing is, I finally made it to the chiropractor Wednesday, and he fixed my ankle, and it had been feeling much better. I don't want to call off work today, or be late, but I'm seriously considering going back to the chiropractor, and/or going to my regular doctor. Maybe at least take some x-rays and see what's going on. This ankle has been giving me trouble for years, and I had an x-ray taken back when I was in Illinois, which indicated arthritis, although I don't remember what kind. It was mild at the time, but I'm guessing it's gotten worse. The chiropractor says I somehow jam my tallus bone up into my leg. So, any of those things, plus perhaps something else I don't know about, plus being too fat. So, yeah.

Anyway, the pain seems to be subsiding, so I'll leave you with these quizzes, emailed from my LJ-less friend Lucy.

Silly Facts About Me )

Oh, shit, do I feel fucked up now. The ankle pain is coming and going, and I'm totally sweating and somewhat nauseous from the Lortab. In my desperation for the pain to stop, I forgot about that no-narcotics-on-an-empty-stomach rule. Gah. I need to call work, and I need to go to the doctor today.
bookofmirrors: (Monkey (1968))
My fucking foot is broken.

And it's an old fracture, so it's been broken for some time. The doctor called it a "march fracture", and said I could have gotten it just from walking, 'cause of my weight. However, looking at some stuff on the web, march fractures (so named because they're typically seem in foot soldiers) are specifically in the metatarsals, and this is on the calcaneous bone. There's basically just a big old hunk of it broken off and sliding around. Hence the on-again-off-again pain, while it moves to more and less painful areas. So, I need to go to an orthopedic doctor. I've seen the x-ray. I'm pretty darn sure something that looks like that doesn't get fixed without surgery. The guy I used to work for, who happens to be one of the 10 best in the country, and who specializes on lower extremities, doesn't seem to be on my insurance, nor does the guy my doctor goes to. So, probably Resurgens, although I'm gonna check on the other docs myself and make sure.

Part of me is relieved. It's not all in my head. Part of me is in shock, y'know, for obvious reasons. And part of me is somewhat annoyed. I mean, I've never had a broken bone in my life. If I was gonna break a bone, it should have at least been exciting, or drama-filled, or something. Hell, I didn't even notice when this happened. How boring.

So, lots of bridges to cross. But, for today, I'm just gonna take it easy.
bookofmirrors: (Default)
OK, I just found out my foot is broken, and I'm probably going to have to have surgery. I used to work for Paul Spiegl, who is one of the top 10 orthopedic surgeons in the country, but it would seem my insurance doesn't cover him. So far, it's looking like I'll need to do Resurgens. Anyone have any input on particular doctors there, good/bad/indifferent? Or any other doctors you recommend? (I can check insurance later.)

Profile

bookofmirrors: (Default)
BookOfMirrors

January 2017

S M T W T F S
123 4567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 04:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios