Name Dropping and Killing Time
Jan. 1st, 2005 03:21 amI had something frightenly akin to a day off today. Granted, I really wouldn't know much about what one felt like, but it certainly seemed that way. :)
OK, I know, I just spent a week in Indiana, living a life of relative leisure. Visiting my parents was lovely. No angst at all, unless you count being a little peeved that my mother commented on
blckwngdorcl looking like he'd lost weight, and her not noticing that I had. I didn't offer the information, but I did comment a day or two later that I needed new black pants for work, since my old ones didn't fit me very well, so when she asked, I offered the information, and later, she said that, looking closer, she COULD see that I had, but I'm not sure if that was bullshit or not. She did, also, in an unusual (from my perspective, anyway) moment of insightfulness, apologize for not noticing to begin with. But other than that, it was a really good visit. She's doing really well after her surgery. She's using a walker and a wheelchair (mostly just to sit in, but she didn't leave the house, either), but not leaning heavily on the walker, and not needing pain medications very often at all. My dad's playing nurse, which I don't think is his thing, but he's being a good sport about it. My mom and I also had a good talk about my sisters, and I stated that I understood why they would be resentful of me (mostly Naia is, I think... probably notsomuch Dawn). I mean, really... They're there all the time, helping out (yes, I know, that's their choice), and I'm down here, not really in a position to do much of anything. And although I'm getting much better with needing money from my dad (only for unexpected and expensive emergencies, yay me!), I know they still see me as being a drain on him financially. Also, I'm sure it must be annoying to be there all the time, and even though I doubt my parents take them for granted, they're at the house all the time, so their visits aren't special like mine are. So, from their perspective, I do the least, take the most (well, now Jaime does, it would seem), and I'm still appreciated more than they are. *shrug* I'd likely be resentful, too. Mom said that since I seemed to already understand all that, she wouldn't bother telling me. ;) Reese, my great-nephew, is doing well. Very outgoing and talkative. He was shy around Glenn and I for about 2 hours, and then he was treating us pretty much as if we'd always been there. Cute little bastard, and very well-spoken. I could understand his words clearly, and he wasn't shy about asking for what and whom he wanted. Go him.
The Christmas part of it was cool.
blckwngdorcl loved his gift, a kickass PDA that I picked out but my parents bought. My favorite gift (besides the cash) was a modular charm bracelet my niece (the aforementioned Jaime) got me. She works at a jewelry store, and normally I'm totally not into jewelry, but this thing kicks ass. She got me an aunt charm, a cat charm, an Illini charm, and one that's a picture of Reese. I bought myself a mood charm, and
blckwngdorcl is going to get me a Family Guy one that has Stewie saying "Damn you, vile woman!" (That's 'cause they didn't have any "wife" ones with hearts. Damn you vile woman is just as good as hearts. *grin*) I'd make a link to what they look like, but I can't find my file that has the code for that on it. Just Google it if you're interested. I want lots more charms. :)
The trip up was an Adventure. I got off work early, which meant that we ended up leaving at what would have been a good time had I gotten off work at the usual time, but, like always, there were several small last-minute things to be done that amounted to 4 hours worth of extra time. We got on the road at about 9:30pm.
blckwngdorcl had offerred to drive his usual half (to Upton, Kentucky, which is where the red light for the gas tank comes on. It also has a 24-hour gas station that sells Ballz and an adjacent 24-hour porn shop. All good things to take away the monotony.) However, since we had no idea where/if there would be ice/snow/etc. on the roads for that portion of the trip, I decided it would be better for me to drive, since I knew how to drive in those conditions. Amusingly enough, the roads were perfectly clear until JUST past Upton. After that, it pretty much sucked. Just a couple of miles south of Scottsburg, Indiana, we stopped DEAD on the interstate. For the next 5 hours. This was at around midnight, so we sat there... we napped off and on. I couldn't nap much, 'cause I didn't want to hold up the line. I needn't have worried. At about 5am, we started moving again. Did I mention I CAN pee in an empty coffee cup and not get anything horrid on the seat? I'm so proud. *gag* Anyway... So, we start moving at about 5am. At 11am, we've made it to the Cracker Barrel at the next exit, roughly 2 miles (closer to 1 mile, really) from where we'd started. 2 breakfasts and bathrooms later, we gave up on the interstate, and drove the rest of the way up on US 31. Normally not a good move, but every time it intersected I-65, I noticed we were going about the same speed, and I had less traffic, and more access to bathrooms on the roadside. :) We got to Warsaw at about 8pm. I told
blckwngdorcl that if we drove around for another hour and a half, we could say we'd been driving for 24 hours. He declined, spoilsport that he is. I showed him my disdain by kissing my parents and going directly to bed once we got there. :)
An interesting thing happened on the way there... We were driving in the mountains in Tennessee, that section of 24 with the fucked up grades, and I was suddenly overcome by this... hard to describe. I described it to
blckwngdorcl as feeling like death. Like capital D Death. You know how you always hear about the icy hand of Death? THAT'S what it felt like. I backed way down on speed, got a very safe distance behind a slow-moving semi, and continued driving until the feeling went away. I saw nothing untoward during that time, felt no sudden Moment where things suddenly became safe. It was a gradual decrease of the feeling, albeit a definitive one.
blckwngdorcl and I talked about it. I wondered if my grandfather had just died or something like that. Although that didn't seem right to me. I wouldn't have been troubled by my grandfather's death. Also, when Fig's grandma died, I felt her passing as being encompassed by love. I couldn't imagine my grandfather would do anything that felt sinister, as this did. I kinda dislike these things when they happen. I had something similar happen in a plane once. A sudden feeling of doom. I spent the majority of the flight heavily shielding the plane until I felt the danger had passed. This particular feeling didn't feel as directed at me. For all I know, what I felt in the mountains could have just been some "evil" entity I picked up on. But when I get really strong feelings like that, and nothing happens, I never know what's up with that. Is my intuition bad? Or is my magic good? Later,
blckwngdorcl commented that it might have been related to the tsunami, but I felt that on the 24th, and the tsunami was a couple of days later. *shrug* It's still a mystery to me.
Anyway, skipping ahead to today... Er... yesterday...
I worked 9am-1pm today. We got out early 'cause of the holiday. We're closed tomorrow, so no chance of working. So,
lunenoire had arranged to spend the day together. We had breakfast at The Flying Biscuit, since the Original House of Pancakes was closed. It was awesome, plus, I'd never been, so that was way cool. And tasty. After that, we went shopping a few places. Scoped out a few things. Had fabulous talks. Had a very intense experience that I'm still blinking over. But altogether a fabulous day. I noted that, even after walking 2 malls (well, not all the way on the second one), I wasn't the least bit tired. Usually malls exhaust me. However, I've felt extremely energized all day.
After that, I had to go to my client. I counted down the new year while working - no midnight smooches for me. I would have smooched my client, but the nature of my work at the time was such that I wasn't in a position to do so. Anyway, I was going to go to
ngtflyer's party after that, but it would seem that his downstairs neighbor doesn't like the videogame thing, and called the cops on him, so his party got shut down. That SUCKS.
So, I called
spy_isis to see if she wanted to meet me at IHOP, since I was now hungry. No answer, so I called
toguspyder to wish him a Happy New Year. I also called He-Who-Hates-Me *cough*
dai_syn
*cough* and left a message, and the Serendipity gang, and also left a message. I had called
elorie earlier to wish her a happy birthday. (Thanks to
tbrents, who inadvertently reminded me of it), and she sounded happy, so that was cool.
So, anyway, I met
spy_isis at IHOP, and had a good time with her, and now I'm here, updating LJ. I was in the mood to post rather than read, so I'll catch that part up tomorrow. Not much left to read, but it's the part I have to pay attention to. :)
Anyway, boys and girls, I've now made something akin to a real post. :) I hope to make a lot more of them as time goes on.
OK, I know, I just spent a week in Indiana, living a life of relative leisure. Visiting my parents was lovely. No angst at all, unless you count being a little peeved that my mother commented on
The Christmas part of it was cool.
The trip up was an Adventure. I got off work early, which meant that we ended up leaving at what would have been a good time had I gotten off work at the usual time, but, like always, there were several small last-minute things to be done that amounted to 4 hours worth of extra time. We got on the road at about 9:30pm.
An interesting thing happened on the way there... We were driving in the mountains in Tennessee, that section of 24 with the fucked up grades, and I was suddenly overcome by this... hard to describe. I described it to
Anyway, skipping ahead to today... Er... yesterday...
I worked 9am-1pm today. We got out early 'cause of the holiday. We're closed tomorrow, so no chance of working. So,
After that, I had to go to my client. I counted down the new year while working - no midnight smooches for me. I would have smooched my client, but the nature of my work at the time was such that I wasn't in a position to do so. Anyway, I was going to go to
So, I called
*cough* and left a message, and the Serendipity gang, and also left a message. I had called
So, anyway, I met
Anyway, boys and girls, I've now made something akin to a real post. :) I hope to make a lot more of them as time goes on.