Jan. 10th, 2009

Le Sigh

Jan. 10th, 2009 11:29 am
bookofmirrors: (Default)
So, I was supposed to work a 4-hour shift today for a new client of one of my many employers. After realizing that they apparently meant Dekalb instead of Dunwoody (according to Google maps), I left, got there on time (early a bit, even), and was pleased to see a VW Beetle in the driveway with one of those COEXIST bumperstickers. Probably pagan-y. Bonus. Funny doormat with a diary entry from a dog. So, I'm figuring a dog. Bonus. Person is in their 20s, so likely hip. Bonus.

Knocked. No answer. Rang doorbell. Twice. No answer. Well, I hadn't been given report (of anything useful) on this person, so I'm wondering if maybe they aren't actually able to answer the door, so I try the knob. Open. (No dog, as far as I can tell. Bummerness.) Beeping noise. Alarm system? Hmmm... not promising. I shut the door. Still no sign of a person. I'd be worried I had the wrong house, if there hadn't been a portable wheelchair ramp on the step.

After a little while, the alarm system starts going off in earnest. Siren-y horrible noises. I open the door back up, and step inside, and call out. A guy comes walking out (Chicago Bears t-shirt, so maybe from near my old stomping grounds? Bonus, maybe.) and I apologize, saying that I hadn't been told about the alarm system, and introduced myself, including the part about how/why I'd ended up setting off the alarm in the first place.

Kindly, but clearly frustrated, he explains that he had told the guy where I work that *if* he wanted a morning nurse, he would let them know, but that right now, they were only interested in night nurses, and that they didn't need me. Of course, I apologized profusely, and would have loved to have chatted for a bit, but his body language was clearly showing me to the door.

My alarm was set at 5:20am this morning. Not so much of a bonus. Especially since I was up past 3:00am...

I called work, of course. Was told I'd be given "time and trouble" pay, whatever that turns out to be. Not a total loss.

Anyway, I had been planning on stopping by David's to pick up my paycheck so I could buy gas/groceries for the week, and I knew that the kids were stopping by early to deal with some furniture, so rather than wait, I went ahead and went over. Once there, Kathleen wondered if I might stick around to help her get David up, and I couldn't think of a good reason not to. Except that David didn't want to get up just then. So, I ran over to the store and picked up just enough stuff for the party tonight, and I've been killing time on the computer, waiting for David to get up. Kathleen's taking Oreo for a walk while she's got the free time.

So, not a total waste of a morning, but certainly not what I'd planned...

I can has bedtime nao?

Profile

bookofmirrors: (Default)
BookOfMirrors

January 2017

S M T W T F S
123 4567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios