May. 29th, 2007

bookofmirrors: (Default)
OK, so now that I've read the book, I'm counting yesterday as Day 0 Part I and today as Day 0 Part II as far as the hair care thing is going.

As of now, it's been at least a week since shampoo or conditioner has touched my hair. It hasn't been nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I've been massaging my scalp vigorously in the shower, and a couple of times, I relied on various internet sources, and used baking soda as shampoo and vinegar as conditioner, which wasn't too bad, although not what I'm used to. It took away the residual oils, which was good, and my hair did feel reasonably soft, although again, not what I'm used to. My biggest complaint is that my hair was completely lank and had no body. It didn't look dirty, but as far as what I could do with it goes, it DID look like I hadn't washed it in a week.

So, yesterday, freshly armed with the new info of Curly Girl, I did a modified version of that. By which I mean that I didn't have any conditioner that had the ingredients the book recommended, so I just did the scalp massage thing again, as they prescribed, and dried my hair as they prescribed. Good Result: My hair is bouncy and playful, and some pretty awesome curls are starting to emerge. Bad Result: OMG does it feel greasy, and kinda looks it, too, but could also look like I have too much product on it.

OK, so, that's what supposed to happen, but still. Not liking the greasy thing. The book says 2-3 weeks before my hair chills out and gets to normal. I'm hoping that going on a shopping spree today and getting the proper conditioner will help. That's why today and yesterday are Days 0; I'll count Day 1 as the first day I use the conditioner.

So, I have embarked on this. Someday, I'll sit down and write about all my current hippie proclivities. I would say "new", but I remember poring over this kind of thing when I was in college, or freshly out, but I never really followed up with any of it.

Oh, and [livejournal.com profile] arielrose - according to the book I've read, you're right - the shampoo-less thing probably wouldn't be good for you (at least not the way I'm doing it) because apparently straight hair is totally different than curly hair in the shape, texture, and general hair-care it needs. So, yes, for you, it *would* be icky! :) (This page no longer has the rose I always used for you. You wanna pick something else?)

In other news, I'm about to get ready and go to an allergist (nice guy, highly recommend him, and he was recommended to me by someone very picky about their healthcare) to see what my current allergies are. userinfoBlckwngdOrcl had his done recently, and he's even more allergic than I am (although I've gone through 2 rounds of allergy shots in the past), and the doctor tells us we're, in general, more allergic than 90% of the population, and God help our kids if we ever have any. What I'm most interested in is food allergies. I was surprised at how many the Beastie has. In the past, I've been told I'm allergic to corn, but I've ignored that, mostly 'cause I've eaten corn all my life and had no problems that I can tell, and also because I really think that was a false positive - I detassled corn for a summer, and the inevitable cuts from the leaves always made me itchy, so I think I'm more allergic to corn-the-plant vs. corn-the-food, although maybe it doesn't work that way. I'd be interested in seeing what I'm allergic to, food-wise. The test here seems much more comprehensive than others I've had in the past. The doctor said to just ignore the food allergies, because they're such a small and insignificant portion of the allergies we have, and most of our allergies are plant and environmental; plus neither of us have any noticable reaction to eating these foods. However, since most of the stuff the Beastie is allergic to isn't really good for him, anyway, I'm actually hoping I have some of the same problems, and that all this will just end up being a good excuse to eliminate these things from our diets.

Anyway, I'd better get going. Appointment soon!
bookofmirrors: (Default)
OK, I got the lavendar oil, and I bought some conditioner that seems to fit the bill of what the book recommends. My only concern is that it contains emulsifying wax; however, after a quick search on the net, I found that it doesn't seem like a bad thing at all. My main hair update is that, while getting my allergy testing today, the lady who was doing it told me I had "such pretty hair". Scary, considering I think it looks like shit right now. Ah, well.

Profile

bookofmirrors: (Default)
BookOfMirrors

January 2017

S M T W T F S
123 4567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 03:47 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios